Combined High School & College Coaches

2018View Video of 2018 Inductees

HaunRon Haun

A graduate of Murray High School and Weber State University, Ron Haun won two state championships as Murray’s football coach and later made a national impact as the longtime coach of Ricks Junior College in Idaho.  Leading one of the country’s premier junior college programs, Ron posted a 178-40-2 record, including an 11-6 mark in bowl games. The Vikings won 11 league titles in his tenure and were voted national runners-up in 1986, 1992 and 2004. Ricks went unbeaten in two of those seasons and played in 17 consecutive bowl games. Ron produced 30 NJCAA All-Americans and was an eight-time “Coach of the Year” in the Western States Football League. He was inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame in 2002 and the Ricks College Hall of Fame in 2007.

After working at Weber State and then BYU while completing a master’s degree, Ron became a Skyline High School assistant coach in 1967. He moved to his alma mater, Murray, where he won two state championshps and earned “Coach of the Year” awards from media and business groups. He moved to Ricks as an assistant coach under coach Ken Schmidt and took over the head coaching position in 1983, staying through the 2001 season.  At that time, the school now known as BYU-Idaho, dropped intercollegiate athletics. The Vikings’ era of top-tier junior college football ended with a 49-21 victory over Lackawanna College in a bowl game in Pocatello, Idaho. Afterward, as quoted by The Herald Journal of Logan, Ron told the 11,000 fans, “We did our part. We’ve had a special season at Ricks College. You’re great fans, and we’ve had great support…you’re going to miss us.”

Ron worked as Weber State’s offensive coordinator under Ron McBride in 2005 and concluded his career as Dixie State University’s coach in 2006-09, as the school moved into NCAA Division II competition.  “Not many people understand the difficulty of transitioning a junior college program into an NCAA Division II program,” DSU interim athletic director Maureen Eckroth said at the time. “It is an exhaustive process that includes athletic responsibilities, education in NCAA regulations, compliance paperwork and numerous other responsibilities. Coach Haun understood the challenge and did all the groundwork to make the football program competitive.” Ron and his wife, Beverly, are parents of two children and live in St. George.

Jim Blaisdell

Roger Reid
Carla “C. T.” Taylor

Larry Shurtliff

Wes Christensen

Ted Chidester
Gary Gardner
Steve Gardner

Ron Abegglen
Mike Jones
Thomas Perkins
Jean Marie Widdison

Ann Bricker
Greg Croshaw
Lu Wallace

Lori Richards

Nena Rey Hawkes

Ray Englestead

Courtney Leishman
Rod Tueller

Kathryn Berg
Jane Miner

Curtis Jensen
Dutch Belnap

Paul Salvo

Sark Arslanian
Mike Gardner
Duke Reid

Ray Odette
Jeanie Wilson

Ken Schmidt
Richard Williams

Doug Allred
Floyd Millet

Ned Alger
Wally Nalder

Chris Apostol
Don McIntosh

Paul Rose
Blaine Sylvester

Norma Carr
Darwin Woodbury